About

You work hard and feel like you deserve to treat yourself to nice things.

At the same time, you’re trying to figure out this whole adulting thing. You’re trying to do all the things you’re “supposed” to do as an adult—buy a house, start a family, etc.—but you feel stuck because student loans and other debt are killing you.

You make too much money to feel this broke.

All you really want is more control of your time and to be able to spend more of it doing the things that matter to you.

I. Feel. You.

Hi, I’m Rho, and I’ve been there.

I’ve been struggling to understand this money thing for a looong time.

I got my first bank account when I was a freshman in college and used to consistently draw it down to a $1 balance within one week after payday without even realizing it. Eating out was the death of my checking account balance.

Everything changed the summer before my junior year of college when a friend from back home pointed out the (painfully obvious) cumulative cost of grabbing a quick meal here and there and how much I was really spending in a month. I was spending hundreds of dollars just eating out!

He was only a few years older than me but had bought a house. He showed me the error of my debit-card-swiping ways and helped me figure out how to control my money.

This exchange lit a spark in me. I started searching the web for more info and devoured personal finance blogs over the next few years.

During that time, I built my savings and learned how to budget and plan for expenses. I was getting the hang of this thing!

That was just the beginning.

In college and law school, I racked up quite a bit of student loan debt. As I neared my law school graduation, I began searching for debt payoff strategies. I came across this whole community of people who paid their debts off in stupid short periods of time.

From there, I found the FIRE (financial independence, retire early) community. These people reject the notion that we have to spend all of our youth behind a desk and instead choose to buy back their freedom long before age 65. I was (am) hooked.

I’m now a wife and mother of a toddler boy, Baby D, with another one on the way. I’m a Biglaw attorney, and my husband, D, is a family physician.

We’re on a journey to pay off over $670,000—mostly student loans and our mortgage. Early retirement doesn’t appeal to us, but we’d like to be financially independent. We want control over our time so that we can focus more on our family and other things that really matter to us.

We’re taking it one step at a time. We plan to pay everything off quickly, but we still plan to have some fun along the way. Check out our progress here!

Full disclosure: we both make six figures, although when we started out, D was still in residency and wasn’t making near that much.

We don’t share our exact incomes or location for privacy reasons. I share our professions so that you can get a ballpark idea of how much we make. We’re in a major metropolitan city, but we’re not in California or New York, so we’re not making as much as the salaries you see in cities there.

Aside from our incomes, you’ll see our real financial numbers here. Even if they’re different from yours, I hope you can find inspiration for your own finances in the way we’re doing things.

The important thing to remember is that personal finance is personal.

You don’t have to do things exactly the way we do them, and you don’t have to take every piece of advice I share. Find the things that work for you and implement them.

Your finances don’t have to be scary and overwhelming. I’ll show you how to take control and get on the path to reaching your financial goals.

Won’t you join me?